Double cutting?

For general topics and questions that do not fit into any of the other categories or forums.
Alabass
1.5 Star Member
1.5 Star Member

Double cutting?

Post by Alabass »

I'm still a newbie to CNC and have a couple of questions. Finally got things figured out enough to make some successful cuts but know just enough to be dangerous. Why is it, sometimes when I use generic DXF files, the post processor code has the controller cutting the pattern again over the previous cuts? I mean, after it completes the cut, it starts over in the same place and cuts the whole thing again if I don't stop it. I'm using SheetCam and Mach3. Also, does everyone use a water pan? I don't have one with my table and thinking of building one if it's necessary. What's there an advantage to having one other than catching dross, sparks, etc?

Thanks
Bobkovacs
2.5 Star Member
2.5 Star Member

Re: Double cutting?

Post by Bobkovacs »

Sounds like it's not removing duplicate vectors when it creates the cutting operation, which my version of SheetCam does automatically. Have you tried opening the dxf in some editing software to see if there are multiple vectors on the same line?
SeanP
4 Star Member
4 Star Member

Post by SeanP »

It could be that you have a duplicate part on top of the original, I have done that a few times! using multiple duplicate with the nesting tool it's easy done
Powermax XP45
Home built table, Candcnc DTHC 2, Dragoncut 620-4
R-Tech 210 Tig, Jasic 250 mig
Sheetcam, Scanything, Coreldraw
Table build gallery
ovrrdrive
2 Star Member
2 Star Member

Post by ovrrdrive »

Make sure you're not downloading files that have cut paths on them too. Some files you'll get for free have the cut path added to the drawing that shows as a second line on the drawing if you zoom in on it. If you use sheetcam on a file like that you would get 2 separate paths.
Alabass
1.5 Star Member
1.5 Star Member

Post by Alabass »

Thanks for the replies!
acourtjester