HyperTherm Powermax 45 not kicking off

Hypertherm Plasma Cutter discussion forum.
WinterFabrication
2.5 Star Member
2.5 Star Member

HyperTherm Powermax 45 not kicking off

Post by WinterFabrication »

Hello,

I have a BurnTables 4x8 and Hypertherm 45. I am very new to this....

But yesterday I was cutting some "V8" logos that were already on the computer, just to get some practice. While is was about halfway through one of the cuts, the plasma cutter cut off and the airflow stopped.

I haven't been able to get it to cut on since. When I load a g-code and start the cycle, I can hear a "click" from inside the BurnTables control box, but nothing actually happens (cutter doesn't cut on, and no air flow).

Could it be a simple setting I accidentally clicked, or does the BurnTables box or the plasma cutter have a fuse that might've blown?

Any help is greatly appreciated
http://www.facebook.com/WinterFabrication

Matt
CandCNC Ethercut
Precision Plasma Gantry
Hypertherm Powermax 45
acourtjester
6 Star Elite Contributing Member

Re: HyperTherm Powermax 45 not kicking off

Post by acourtjester »

Generally speaking when something stops unexpectedly something broke.
Have you looked at the front of the hypertherm for any fault lights.
What happens when you run a g-code if you get to a point where the plasma should have come on and did not you could have a trigger problem. What I mean is the hypertherm is not being told to turn on the torch. Or is you have a THC it is not getting ARC ok because the torch is not lighting. First thing check the torch trigger output this is a simple contact being made by the controller and you could put a ohm meter on the pins for the torch trigger and see what happens when it should light the torch. you should see a short on the ohm meter is the trigger works.
Can you manually operate the hypertherm
DIY 4X4 Plasma/Router Table
Hypertherm PM65 Machine Torch
Drag Knife and Scribe
Miller Mig welder
13" metal lathe
Small Mill