GGW! (Geometry Gone Wild)

General software related questions should be posted here.
Diesel
2.5 Star Member
2.5 Star Member

GGW! (Geometry Gone Wild)

Post by Diesel »

Ladies and Gents:

Has anyone ever seen SheetCam and/or Mach3 misinterpret geometry?

Take a look...
GeometryGoneWild.jpg
You can see the 90° angles in SheetCam with the resultant part as cut in front...with perfect fillets where there should be none.

Any ideas?

All of the other geometry on this part appears to be A-OK when compared to the .DXF (which originated in SolidWorks - customer sent me the file)
SheetCam didn't complain about the file or the post processing...no open contours, etc.

This is 18GA CRS and cut per book settings.
This is my first attempt at 18GA and also the first time I've tried looping sharp corners...the results speak volumes...it makes for very nice corners.

I've also had issues with SheetCam and/or Mach3 misplacing lead-in's and "torching" a few areas on some artsy stuff with lesser quality files.
I'll save that for another topic, but I have to wonder if the two issues are related...

Thanks!

Beers,

Matt
Custom LDR Motion Systems 5x10 table w/ rotary axis and scribe
Hypertherm Powermax85
Quincy 325 compressor
Ingersoll Rand D18IN refrigerated air dryer
Millermatic 251 MIG
Everlast PowerPro 256 TIG/stick/plasma w/ water cooler
_Ogre
3.5 Star Member
3.5 Star Member

Re: GGW! (Geometry Gone Wild)

Post by _Ogre »

i had a similar issue cutting 10 gauge steel when we first had our table
acceleration issues compound on thin material and the higher speeds associated with it
use the rules in sheetcam to slow down before a 90* turn
it's not showing up on the outside corners from the looping corners, but if you slowdown before outside corners you don't need to loop
bulltear 4x8 cnc plasma table, candcnc bladerunner w/dthc, hypertherm powermax 65, sheetcam, mach3
laser cross hair for hypertherm torch http://www.plasmaspider.com/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=12508