36X60 plasma table build

Share and learn with other DIY members who have built their own plasma tables and accessories.
Mwmx54
1 Star Member
1 Star Member

36X60 plasma table build

Post by Mwmx54 »

As seen in the pic below, I have a plasma table designed, but I need some serious guidance on what controls to go with, I have a mill that I "built" converted to cnc, using an ESS Smoothstepper, and mach4, which I've had good luck with, but in the case of the plasma, the WarpRunner is a little on the pricey side, but I also learned I can use my mach4 license on both machines, so a little savings there. Im just not sure how much use this will get, and don't want to break the bank. so I am looking for alternatives, or advice on if I should stick to what I know... I think linux cnc would be cheapest, but when it comes to that, I have zero experience. If anyone has a recomendation, and can point me towards which software to use, and which controller and thc works well together, please chime in. I see a lot of options out there, but figuring out what works together has proven to hurt my brain. also, trying not to break the bank here. and I know ballscrews aren't ideal, but that's what I have, and will run it with a large nema34. One more quick note, Im sure I will cut thinner material, but most will be thicker(1/4"+) to go on the mill. the cutter I have is a cheapo machine with cnc ports.
One more thing, the myplasm kit with thc and ohmic sensing appears to be a decent deal, what I don't understand is how it says it doesn't use g-code, or changes it to something simpler.. does this mean I wouldn't be able to write a g-code program in fusion, and run it with that controller?
Thanks
plasma tablejpeg.jpg

You currently do not have access to download this file.
To gain download access for DXF, SVG & other files Click Here

Joe Jones
5 Star Elite Contributing Member
5 Star Elite Contributing Member

Re: 36X60 plasma table build

Post by Joe Jones »