inkscape

Post by trucks1948 »

Can we start a discussion on inkscape?
Dawgonhawg
3 Star Member
3 Star Member

Re: inkscape

Post by Dawgonhawg »

I second the motion. I would like to learn how to use the software.
4R8
2.5 Star Member
2.5 Star Member

Post by 4R8 »

Hmm, thought this thread might have taken off.

Feel free to post your questions, if I can help, i will. I'm no expert but definitely getting some impressive results. (I think so anyway)

Here's a little example of what can be achieved.

I completed this while constructing a tutorial for another site a little while ago. It was a photo submitted by another member for me to use as the demo.

The photo below is the original photo submitted.
Attachments
twisty truck.jpg
twisty truck.jpg (52.64 KiB) Viewed 4208 times
4R8
2.5 Star Member
2.5 Star Member

Post by 4R8 »

I decided to simplify a few things like the reeds to allow it to be cut fairly small. Chose a mountain style background for this reason also and it sets the scene a bit better.

I'd post a link to the tutorial but the site is down and has been for a few weeks (I believe the admin is overseas on holiday). Not sure on when/if it'll be back up and running again.

If there are enough questions, I may look at redoing the tutorial over here with a few touch ups.
Dawgonhawg
3 Star Member
3 Star Member

Post by Dawgonhawg »

WOW. That looks great.
admin
Site Admin

Post by admin »

Just saw this thread and added this Inkscape forum to main list for everyone. Looking forward to seeing what it brings.

Nice job on the image conversion, that looks great :!:
4R8
2.5 Star Member
2.5 Star Member

Post by 4R8 »

Cheers guys!

Admin, Thanks for the forum addition. Inkscape really is a great program sharing a few similarities with some high end software.

Once i get a hold of the guy who submitted the photo, I'll post the DXF here or in the sharing forum.

The addition of Inkscape to a separate forum will avoid questions and answers being lost on previous pages.