Torch not diving but getting super low

Shop Sabre plasma table discussion forum
Buffetkiller
1/2 Star Member
1/2 Star Member

Torch not diving but getting super low

Post by Buffetkiller »

So ive been having an issue with my "THC" i believe. I start a file and it touches down then pierces, then it goes down to cutting height but in the first 2" of cut will get waaaayy to close to the material. Often times it ends up colliding with the plate.

Now it i turn my THC off it wont do this so i have been cutting without it. I have read up on THC and how it works, so i have played with the timing and voltage and no matter what it will do the same as explained....

Ofcoarse this is a shop sabre sidekick 10 and it is running with WINCNC. I have attached a pic(hope it works) of my settings. Any input would be appreciated!
(Bare with me im not good at composing a easy to read paragraph)
99FB1B76-2FCF-4E09-B63E-9962270E4699.jpeg

You currently do not have access to download this file.
To gain download access for DXF, SVG & other files Click Here

weldguy
4 Star Elite Contributing Member

Re: Torch not diving but getting super low

Post by weldguy »

Sounds like your THC is doing what is supposed to do to me but your target arc voltage is too low. In a nutshell your height is related to your voltage, if you want your torch to be higher when cutting you will want to increase your arc voltage. I see in the image your target voltage is set to 137v, try increasing it to 147v and you should see your torch is riding higher off the plate. Just do some 12"long straight line cuts to get used to this and get it dialed in. Remember whenever you change amperage, material thickness, cut speed, etc you will have to make adjustments to your target arc voltage to maintain the proper cut height. Auto torch height control still requires some input and THEN it will automatically maintain the proper height.
Buffetkiller
1/2 Star Member
1/2 Star Member

Post by Buffetkiller »