Torch Height Hypertherm issues

Shop Sabre plasma table discussion forum
Munnin88
1 Star Member
1 Star Member

Torch Height Hypertherm issues

Post by Munnin88 »

Hi Guys,
So I'm working with a shopsabre sidekick 8 with a 65A hypertherm unit, and I'm having a few issues getting this thing to work with me.
For starters when I have the Pierce height enabled, and send the cut job the torch will drop, collide with the material and abort due to the collision. I can only get it to work when I disable the pierce height function and set it manually.

Recently, I have been cutting parts that have some inner geometry, once I set my torch and hit go it will preform the first inner cut without issue, when it moves to the outer cut the torch lifts and moves to position but will stay a few inches from the material and activate the torch, it then moves along the correct path but only licks the metal with the tip of the arc without cutting.

I am new to all things plasma and cnc, so any advice or knowledge would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks again gents!
weldguy
4 Star Elite Contributing Member

Re: Torch Height Hypertherm issues

Post by weldguy »

You have a great equipment there, this should be easily solved. One issue at a time is always best so start with the initial material sensing for pierce height. What material sensing method is used, ohmic clip, or limit switch activated touch and retract?
Munnin88
1 Star Member
1 Star Member

Post by Munnin88 »

I have the ohmic clip!
acourtjester
6 Star Elite Contributing Member
6 Star Elite Contributing Member

Post by acourtjester »

Are you using a post processor that is set up for an Ohmic sensor. If so there should be a G31 just before the pierce action is in the G-code
DIY 4X4 Plasma/Router Table
Hypertherm PM65 Machine Torch
Drag Knife and Scribe
Miller Mig welder
13" metal lathe
Small Mill
Everlast PowerTig 255 EXT
weldguy

Post by weldguy »