VFD or phase converter

All topics related to compressed air supply.
richcorr
1/2 Star Member
1/2 Star Member

VFD or phase converter

Post by richcorr »

I purchased an Atlas Copco Gx2ff Rotary Screw Compressor, 3 phase. Getting 3 phase to my shop is not an option. What is my best option, a VFD or phase converter. I am not super knowledgeable on this subject. Suggestions would greatly be appreciated.
230v 60 Hz 2,2 Kw
IMG_5952.JPG
IMG_5929.JPG

You currently do not have access to download this file.
To gain download access for DXF, SVG & other files Click Here

cuttinparts
3 Star Member
3 Star Member

Re: VFD or phase converter

Post by cuttinparts »

I am no electrician or expert on the topic but believe a phase converter would be your best solution. I would think a VFD would be used in an application that required a variable frequency to allow motor rpm to be modulated like in a mill so you could vary the spindle speed to the appropriate rpm. Maybe someone else has more info for you on this topic. Sounds like a sweet compressor though!
djreiswig
4.5 Star Elite Contributing Member
4.5 Star Elite Contributing Member

Post by djreiswig »

You can get VFD's that will convert single phase to 3 phase.
2014 Bulltear (StarLab) 4x8
C&CNC EtherCut
Mach3, SheetCam, Draftsight
Hypertherm PM65
Oxy/Acetylene Flame Torch
Pneumatic Plate Marker, Ohmic, 10 inch Rotary Chuck (in progress)
sphurley
3 Star Elite Contributing Member
3 Star Elite Contributing Member

Post by sphurley »

There are three kinds, Static (Phase O Matic) just a relay and a capacitor, Rotary, (start a three phase motor with a static unit and then it's output is 3phase, and Digital, (VFD falls into this also) which can be the best in the long run (larger upfront cost but may save it on Electric bill)(Phase Perfect).
Don't get cheap, you have a really nice compressor.
Steve
Platform CNC Plasma table
CandCNC Ethercut IV DTHC
Hypertherm 85/CPC/RS485
Miller 350P
Miller Dynasty 280DX
TrinityFabworks