Hi All!

New to PlasmaSpider? Introduce yourself to the community and tell us a little about you.
Eartheniron
1/2 Star Member
1/2 Star Member

Hi All!

Post by Eartheniron »

I was so surprised to come across this site and see there's a huge community revolving around Plasma Cam.
I've got 30+ years experience Fabricating Metals, and finally made a CNC Plasma purchase this year. I'm a cad guy from way back, and hope to contribute something to the community when I get this machine figured out.
Figuring the Baileigh name has been around for as long as I can remember, I threw down the cash and bought a
Baileigh PT-105HD-W CNC PLASMA TABLE with a Thermal Dynamics A120 Plasma Cutter.
The setup and Wiring was the easy part.... The lack of information in the manuals was quite a surprise though. So, after a few hours digging through the web and searching out definitions of terminology and functions I was able to get the machine to make a cut.
As for the THC on the Torch Z axis...It's still a mystery. Doesn't seem to want to respond to setting changes of voltage (to get tip closer to the material).
Tried cutting with a 40, and 60 amp tip setup and no height difference is being seen. So far the closest I can get the tip while cutting is about 3/16" to the base metal, which is leaving a steep bevel, although the dross is pretty minimal, I know it can be improved.
I'm open to any suggestions if anyone has any input on what I'm describing.
I Hope to make progress cutting soon.
Cheers!
Attachments
New Plas in My Old World
New Plas in My Old World
acourtjester
6 Star Elite Contributing Member

Re: Hi All!

Post by acourtjester »