New Tool Maker here in the Midwest

New to PlasmaSpider? Introduce yourself to the community and tell us a little about you.
Jeremy4757
1/2 Star Member
1/2 Star Member

New Tool Maker here in the Midwest

Post by Jeremy4757 »

I'm 28 years old, I've been a machinist for 6 years here in St.Louis MO and I've worked my way into being a tool Maker. I Really enjoy the process of welding and fine tuning my welding skills. Fortunately I'm realizing at a young age that I am one of those guys that can not work for somebody forever. I've done extremely well in my industry but I need to get started on my Escape from being just an employee until I die. Nothing wrong with that whatsoever its just not for me.

So here I am.

I made a small investment into Langmuir Systems Pro Table Back in January and it is just now starting to show up and I'm beyond excited. In the meantime I purchased a Kobalt 60Gallon compressor, ran air throughout my shop (870sqft building), ran the proper power I will need to where I need it. I'm glad I've had this time to really get all my ducks in a row because now I'm ready and better off than I ever would have been if it showed up a week or two after purchase.

I've also been on a Learning mission. absorbing as much information as I can and paying attention to what is going on in the industry. I'm not going to go too much into detail about my end goals here, but I plan to start with signs and artsy stuff to get the wheels rolling. Then, I want to get into more of Industrial type work. There are many reasons for doing so that I'm not gonna get into but I do have quite a few connections from working around town for so many years that I will take full advantage of. Also I've been doing a lot of learning about accounting and "the books" side of running a business UPWARDS, and NOT straight into the ground.