Another new guy

New to PlasmaSpider? Introduce yourself to the community and tell us a little about you.
cythejuggler
1/2 Star Member
1/2 Star Member

Another new guy

Post by cythejuggler »

Hi, I'm Cy and I am an experienced Tig welder/fabricator/artist just starting to get into plasma cutting. I've decided I need to add a CNC table to improve my capabilities. I think I've decided to go the DIY route hopefully to save some money and learn some new skills along the way. I have no previous CNC experience, but I figure now is a good time to start learning.
sonbakler
3 Star Member
3 Star Member

Re: Another new guy

Post by sonbakler »

Sounds like a great move getting into plasma. There is a DIY section here viewforum.php?f=103 which may be of some help, it did help me. There are 2 or 3 site sponsors that advertise above and who manufacture electronics packages for DIY'ers. Check them out. I went with C&CNC years ago and have been satisfied.
acourtjester
6 Star Elite Contributing Member

Post by acourtjester »

Hi Cy
Welcome aboard, there are many DIY types here, and they will share info. I have built a few table and it is a great experience, and it will aid in you learning process. Being a Tig welder and Fabricator is a big plus, it will add to the saving being able to understand and assemble the basic for the table. It will be a plus for your fabrication work, just buy raw metal and draw up and cut the parts you need.
private message sent from here in you in box.
have fun
Tom
DIY 4X4 Plasma/Router Table
Hypertherm PM65 Machine Torch
Drag Knife and Scribe
Miller Mig welder
13" metal lathe
Small Mill
Everlast PowerTig 255 EXT
adbuch

Post by adbuch »