New to community from Oklahoma

New to PlasmaSpider? Introduce yourself to the community and tell us a little about you.
DJA
1/2 Star Member
1/2 Star Member

New to community from Oklahoma

Post by DJA »

Hello all. My name is Dan and I'm glad to have found this forum. I have a Wright CNC 4x4 table and am happy to report that it works as it should. I say this because those who bought from Wright after did not fare so well. Anyway, I am just a hobbyist and enjoy making parts for project vehicles. I've been working (slowly) on a land speed racing car (pic attached) and have other little projects going on some others in the shop. I model in Fusion 360 and QCAD and have recently started working with an SLA 3d printer.

The next plasma related project I want to wade into is automated tube notching. I have begun modeling a design and to investigate the software side. This is where I will need some help.

Dan
IMG_3761.jpg
IMG_3761.jpg (91.59 KiB) Viewed 544 times
sonbakler
3 Star Member
3 Star Member

Re: New to community from Oklahoma

Post by sonbakler »

Welcome Dan! Great looking shop and definitely a cool project car you have there, a plasma table is a dream come true for building stuff like that. Would like to see more of that build as the project moves ahead, very cool.

I have tried notching round tube so many different ways and always end up coming back to doing manually with a bandsaw and a 4.5" grinder. If you plasma cut the notches you need to grind it back beyond the heat affected zone anyway so no time is really saved I have found.
Joe Jones
5 Star Elite Contributing Member
5 Star Elite Contributing Member

Post by Joe Jones »

sonbakler wrote: Wed Jan 18, 2023 8:26 am If you plasma cut the notches you need to grind it back beyond the heat affected zone anyway so no time is really saved I have found.