Newbie Here Think my ATHC is Off...

New to PlasmaSpider? Introduce yourself to the community and tell us a little about you.
Rox
1 Star Member
1 Star Member

Newbie Here Think my ATHC is Off...

Post by Rox »

Hi!
New to plasma cutting. A little background first.

I was a Piping Designer for 9 years. CADWORX, Autocad, Navisworks.. etc. Construction background but never welding. Recently married and quit Piping Design to build world class BBQ's with my husband. ( peacemakergrills.com ) Take a peak, these will blow you away! Husband is a 40 year fabricator artist and is very efficient with the amp/volt stuff. I however am not. And to be honest the table intimidates me.

Our Table was originally shipped and set up in another location to a different user. We obtained the table and moved it home with us. So all the configuration files etc were initially set up under another user. I pretty much made a DXF and ran with it. Also this machine is currently OFFLINE and has had no updates

ArcLight Pro 9600 4x8 REV 11.11.2021
Hypotherm 65
COMMAND CNC P2 Plasma (ATHC)
Sheetcam

Question:

Can the Automatic TORCH HEIGHT CONTROL be modified and reconfigured? Or maybe I need to understand how those settings all got applied to the system when it was out of the box.

Here is my scenario.
We cut 1008 Holes on Angle Iron last week. Jigged up the table and it was very successful. Coming back to a sheet on the table my cuts were crap. High dross and hard to remove. WTH? So we sped up to max speed. That did help. But things were still not right. My husband eyed it while running and the torch seems to high.
I lowered the voltage a few time to get it to even being close to a normal cut. Lengthening my arc correct?