Image
AUGUST EasyScriber Giveaway!
Industry Pros use FastCut CNC

Powermax 85 question

Discussion on 0-20 fault codes
Post Reply
Charlene
3 Star Member
3 Star Member
Posts: 471
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2011 12:06 am
Location: Maine

Powermax 85 question

Post by Charlene » Thu Apr 26, 2012 4:30 pm

Well, I am not sure where the problem is coming from but I figured I would start here. First, the problem: we will be in the middle of a cut and the torch goes out. Sometimes the gantry will stop at the same time (almost as if the program has paused) and then it generally fires again and continues but sometimes I have to manually restart it in Mach. Other times the gantry keeps moving while the torch stops and starts again in a very short distance. There are no errors when in Mach, on the torch, or the candcnc box. We have been mostly using the fine cut consumables when this happens but it did it with the 85 amp as well..

The details:
PM 85 with CPC port/Machine torch
consumables: swirl ring (220857); electrode (220842); nozzle (220930); retaining cap (220953); shield (220948)
candCNC ESP II - 4 motor system
DTHC II
15 cfm compressor w/ refrig air dryer
Bulltear gantry

Any ideas of what might be causing this or what I should check?

wickedinhere
3.5 Star Member
3.5 Star Member
Posts: 749
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2011 9:03 pm

Re: Powermax 85 question

Post by wickedinhere » Thu Apr 26, 2012 5:40 pm

Does the pm85 show any fault codes? It sounds like a grounding problem but i know you already know that.

Charlene
3 Star Member
3 Star Member
Posts: 471
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2011 12:06 am
Location: Maine

Re: Powermax 85 question

Post by Charlene » Thu Apr 26, 2012 9:53 pm

No fault codes. And we have tried grounding on the slats as well as the cut metal. We also cleaned the area where we attached the ground... :?: :?: :?:

jimcolt
5 Star Elite Contributing Member
5 Star Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 3042
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 11:18 pm
Location: New Hampshire

Re: Powermax 85 question

Post by jimcolt » Fri Apr 27, 2012 5:24 pm

Actually sounds like a marginal airflow problem.....if the inlet air (during a cut) happens to drop below 85 psi (measured at the inlet, after any filtration) then the unit will shut the arc off to protect the torch from damage. When the plasma shuts off.....if you have the arc transferred output wired to your machine....then the machine motion should stop. When the plasma shuts down and the air flow to the torch stops....the air pressure can rise and reset the low pressure error code.

Make sure:

- The air hose feeding the unit is at least 3/8 ID, and less than 50 feet long.
-Any filtration you have is adequately sized and the filter is not saturated with moisture or clogged.
-The pressure at the inlet stays between 90 and 135 psi with the air flowing at the torch. (you may have to install a gauge at the plasma....reading a gauge any distance away will not show pressure drop in the line under flowing conditions)

Jim Colt

Charlene
3 Star Member
3 Star Member
Posts: 471
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2011 12:06 am
Location: Maine

Re: Powermax 85 question

Post by Charlene » Sat Apr 28, 2012 10:13 pm

Thank you Jim. We bought a new air hose today and will give it a try. Will update soon.

BorstMetalWorks
1.5 Star Member
1.5 Star Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 6:45 pm
Location: SW Michigan
Contact:

Re: Powermax 85 question

Post by BorstMetalWorks » Tue Jun 12, 2012 2:56 pm

I am having the same issue with a brand new powermax 85. did the new air line solve you're issue?

edit,

it appears the Powermax 85 momentarialy stops sending the arc ok signal even though ground appears to be good.

edit again,

if i put cut voltage at 112 (vs the recommended 131) it cuts reasonable well. Jim colt mentioned on some other forum (i cant find the post now) he would tell someone how to measure raw voltage and divided voltage. I would appreciate knowing that procedure if anyone could help me out. I also loose arc sometimes. I am hoping this was because the torch was raising way too high.

Thank you everyone for any help you can provide.

Patrick
96x120 BullTear (star labs) cnc table
Candcnc ether cut with dthc4
Hypertherm Powermax 85
Miller Xmt 350 MPa
Miller XR-30a
Miller S-54d feeder
Millermatic 350p with XR-Alumapro
http://www.borstmetalworks.com
http://www.facebook.com/BorstMetalWorks

Thanks

Charlene
3 Star Member
3 Star Member
Posts: 471
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2011 12:06 am
Location: Maine

Re: Powermax 85 question

Post by Charlene » Tue Jun 12, 2012 9:44 pm

Patrick,

The airhose definitely made a difference. I don't think I have had this problem since then.

BorstMetalWorks
1.5 Star Member
1.5 Star Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 6:45 pm
Location: SW Michigan
Contact:

Re: Powermax 85 question

Post by BorstMetalWorks » Wed Jun 13, 2012 7:21 pm

thanks for the reply but i am hoping i have narrowed the problem down to a bad table electronic component that is causing the torch to raise randomly.

I post results after part is exchanged.

thanks again

Patrick
96x120 BullTear (star labs) cnc table
Candcnc ether cut with dthc4
Hypertherm Powermax 85
Miller Xmt 350 MPa
Miller XR-30a
Miller S-54d feeder
Millermatic 350p with XR-Alumapro
http://www.borstmetalworks.com
http://www.facebook.com/BorstMetalWorks

Thanks

BorstMetalWorks
1.5 Star Member
1.5 Star Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 6:45 pm
Location: SW Michigan
Contact:

Re: Powermax 85 question

Post by BorstMetalWorks » Mon Jun 18, 2012 10:45 am

Thank you Charlene.

It turns out i had 2 problems. But you were right. I put a 1/2" air hose on and there doesnt seem to be any more issues with loosing arc. Hopefully it stays that way.

Patrick
96x120 BullTear (star labs) cnc table
Candcnc ether cut with dthc4
Hypertherm Powermax 85
Miller Xmt 350 MPa
Miller XR-30a
Miller S-54d feeder
Millermatic 350p with XR-Alumapro
http://www.borstmetalworks.com
http://www.facebook.com/BorstMetalWorks

Thanks

Post Reply

Return to “0-20 Fault Code”

Industry Pros use FastCut CNC