Not really happy with PM65. Thinking of going with 45XP

Discussion on 0-21 fault codes
Jaked937
1.5 Star Elite Contributing Member

Not really happy with PM65. Thinking of going with 45XP

Post by Jaked937 »

New to the plasma table world and decided to go with a PM65 (within the last 4 weeks) because I was told I could run fine cut consumables and get great quality all while still being able to cut thick material. Sometimes it works great but often it would stop firing during piercing (mainly using 16g steel). The inconsistency was driving me insane especially after spending close to $10,000 to get up and running with the table, plasma, new compessor (I'm a teacher by day so this was a giant purchase). At one point if it wasn't having starting issues, it would throw a code 0-21 during the middle of the cut. This resulted in a lot of ruined pieces. Then the next trick it liked to do was blow apart the end of the nozzle sometimes after only a minute or less of cut time.

After talking to tech support who was great, they suggest a new swirl ring, 45amp nozzle (not fine cut) and a shielded tip. I was told "there is a known issue with the fine cut." I did as recommended and it works great, no error codes, no misfires....... but now I feel that I'm not able to get as much detail out of my cuts as I want. This may be because I don't know enough to adjust the setting correct but I've tried adjusting it multiple ways and still not thrilled with the end result on thinner material.

I'm now not confident in running fine cuts and thinking maybe I overpurchased the larger PM65. Hypertherm has been really great in customer service and has offered to work with me on possibly getting me into the new 45XP which apparently they have not had any issues with fine cuts. I'm kind of a loss at what to do other than possibly switch over to the 45XP.