Plasma Table Fluid

All topics related to smoke evacuation, ventilation, and water tables.
gorillamotors
1/2 Star Member
1/2 Star Member

Plasma Table Fluid

Post by gorillamotors »

How often or how do you tell when you need to change out the fluid in your plasma table tanks?
spoolnms
1 Star Member
1 Star Member

Re: Plasma Table Fluid

Post by spoolnms »

I am new to cnc plasma, and only cut about 4 4x4 sheets so far. But I would imagine when it starts to get full of debree?
DezertBlingMoto
2.5 Star Elite Contributing Member
2.5 Star Elite Contributing Member

Post by DezertBlingMoto »

Are you referring to the metal scrap that falls in table or the actual liquid itself ( plasma quench ) for the droppings , I just bought a magnet from harbor freight and go fishing every other time I cut metal .
The-Meerkat
1.5 Star Member
1.5 Star Member

Post by The-Meerkat »

I drain and refill it just often enough to avoid brewing any nasty stew in it. Once a month or so. I saw a short video awhile back on YouTube where a guy uses Borax. I add a half box of Borax (as in your mom’s 20 Mule Team Borax she added to the washing machine) to fresh water. It’s a lot cheaper than the water table additive. Works great.
Scott Meer
harrymorley
4 Star Elite Contributing Member

Post by harrymorley »

sodium nitrite powder. Its available on Amazon and also at any spice store that sells spices for sausage, jerky, etc. Google sodium nitrite as an anti rust additive. right now I just drain mine on a regular basis.
BrooklynBravest
1 Star Member
1 Star Member

Post by BrooklynBravest »

I found “Johnson test tank powder”

Which turns the water green like greencut and is extremely concentrated. One bag will do 300 gallons.

It’s $30 for a 3 pack shipped so enough for 900 gallons.

The only concern is it is sodium carbonate which is very slightly toxic and this is an extremely diluted solution as well. I highly doubt it being worse than plasma fumes/dust regardless.
djreiswig