Want to start a side business with a plasma table and I've got a few questions

For general topics and questions that do not fit into any of the other categories or forums.
Locust
1 Star Member
1 Star Member

Want to start a side business with a plasma table and I've got a few questions

Post by Locust »

My background is in CNC machining, waterjets, and welding, so I have experience with a plasma torch, part pathing and metal work in general, so I'm not a complete noob to fabrication and I don't need to focus on a machine marketed to the DIY/Maker coming into this completely green to the processes. I figure my startup budget is probably around $10k at most.

I've browsed thru a number of reviews of a few different brands of tables on this forum and it seems like everyone is happy with the machines they have and nothing stood out as especially good or bad. I guess at this point I'm leaning toward the Langmuir machines. Is there any other brands I should be looking harder at? Local Haun Welding salesman was telling me there's a guy who might have some demo machines from Lone Star in the area, but I can't find any local contact info for him and I haven't seen any pricing for their machines yet.

My other question is what size machine would be recommended to begin with? What did you start with and what did you wish you started with once you got a feel for things?
I feel like a 2x2 is going to be too small and I'm tempted to jump right in with a machine that can handle a full 4x8, but I'm aware that there are a few sizes in between depending on who's machines you're looking at. Pricing differences are significant between a 3x4 work envelope and a 4x8 and if 90% of jobs fit on a 3x4 that obviously makes a lot more sense.

Thanks for the help.
cstroke
3 Star Elite Contributing Member

Re: Want to start a side business with a plasma table and I've got a few questions

Post by cstroke »

CNC shop and services has a machine that's very good.