Positioning a plasma cut inside a circle

For general topics and questions that do not fit into any of the other categories or forums.
Jb_engineering
2.5 Star Elite Contributing Member

Positioning a plasma cut inside a circle

Post by Jb_engineering »

Hi all. Im after some advice on plasma cutting designs into saw blade/discs. Ive done this once before but how i positioned the workpiece, it was about 1/2 inch off from side to side. What i did before was make a design of the same size as the disc(a circle the same diameter, with a design inside), cut out the detail and then closed the code before it wanted to cut the outer circle.
When positioning the 1st cut i placed the torch where the arrows are on the enclosed pic. But this is whats given me the error. Ho do i position my torch into the centre? Would this be done on sheetcam? Or mach 3? Im assuming itll be a simple fix. Im still a newbie at this kind of stuff 🤣
Thanks.
Picsart_23-03-18_22-41-44-682.png

You currently do not have access to download this file.
To gain download access for DXF, SVG & other files Click Here

adbuch
6 Star Elite Contributing Member

Re: Positioning a cut

Post by adbuch »

Chris - I don't use sheetcam, but my suggestion would be to experiment using a sharpie pen holder attached to your torch and draw it first to figure out what adjustments you need to have the center of your image correspond with the center of the circle.

David
Jb_engineering

Post by Jb_engineering »

Is it the part in sheetcam where theres a square with 3 rows of 3 dots on, ive always selected the bottom left of the square. Is this to position the torch?
Thanks david. Its on th to do list.
adbuch

Post by adbuch »

Perhaps this will help.
David

sheetcam.jpg

weldguy
4 Star Elite Contributing Member
4 Star Elite Contributing Member

Post by weldguy »