Powermax 85 vs 105 for cutting 3/4" mild steel

Cut quality issues can be discussed here, most common issues have been discussed here and should help you.
RhinoGuy
1/2 Star Member
1/2 Star Member

Powermax 85 vs 105 for cutting 3/4" mild steel

Post by RhinoGuy »

Hi everyone. I am currently running a Powermax 85 on a piranha plasma table. The table has THC and I am using Hypertherms ProNest software. I am fairly new to plasma cutting and cant seem to get 3/4" plate to cut correctly. The holes always end up tapered or out of round on one side and the edges of the plate are sometimes not straight. I am thinking about changing the power source out to a Powermax 105 to see if it will help any. Any thoughts on that? I am just wondering if using the 85 at its maximum is causing me to have cut quality problems.

Great community you have here by the way. I have spent quite a bit of time reading through post.
jimcolt
5 Star Elite Contributing Member
5 Star Elite Contributing Member

Re: Powermax 85 vs 105 for cutting 3/4" mild steel

Post by jimcolt »

Air plasma produces a certain amount of taper, and the taper is increased as hole diameter gets smaller. There are some rules of thumb and best practices that can minimize the taper. The Powermax85 does an excellent job on 3/4", however that is its maximum recommended rating. You could step up to the 105, which only gives you an extra 1/8" in pierce capacity, but higher duty cycle and faster cut speeds......keep in mind that the 105 needs 3 phase power. If you can provide pics of issues with your parts that you are having...maybe we could offer some advice on technique that will help out.
RhinoGuy
1/2 Star Member
1/2 Star Member

Post by RhinoGuy »

Thanks for the response. Ill try to find some parts and get a picture. I have noticed that the larger the hole is, the better it looks. Should I be able to cut a decent 7/8" hole in 3/4" plate? Or is that asking too much?
SegoMan DeSigns
4 Star Member
4 Star Member