Finecut and Stainless

Cut quality issues can be discussed here, most common issues have been discussed here and should help you.
rwskinner
1.5 Star Member
1.5 Star Member

Finecut and Stainless

Post by rwskinner »

I've been using finecuts for several years and love them, however, I always seems to have issues on thicker materials that the book specs say I can cut, but sometimes they don't cut all the way thru.

This week, I'm cutting lots of 12 ga 304L, using the finecuts and book specs, I have serious edge bevel and some of my cuts are not cutting all the way thru. I'd like to get this figured out. I have checked my DTHC and then made sure my cut height was correct, but I have the same issue.

I can switch over to regular 45 amp nozzles and everything is fine, but I loose some of the finer details I need for these parts.

Any recommendations?
SeanP
4 Star Member
4 Star Member

Re: Finecut and Stainless

Post by SeanP »

I use finecuts a lot for anything under 3mm as well, get great cuts on mild steel and thinner stainless, I tend to slow down a little to book specs though, 3mm stainless I would be at 2400 (book 2550) 3mm stainless is ok, but not as good as the thinner stainless.

One other thing, I hate that ohmic shield 220948, it clogs easily and to my mind have more problems with not cutting through in places.

I made up a 2 legged shield from a old 220817, been using it for the last six months every day and to my mind it's way better, better cuts and lot less trouble with spatter.

Nozzles need to be clean and in good condition to get good cuts, 6mm is the thickest I have cut if you wanting good detail.
ohmic.jpg
2mm & 1.5mm 304
2mm & 1.5mm 304
6mm mild steel
6mm mild steel
Powermax XP45
Home built table, Candcnc DTHC 2, Dragoncut 620-4
R-Tech 210 Tig, Jasic 250 mig
Sheetcam, Scanything, Coreldraw
Table build gallery
jimcolt
5 Star Elite Contributing Member
5 Star Elite Contributing Member

Post by jimcolt »