Need Help Improving Cut Quality

Cut quality issues can be discussed here, most common issues have been discussed here and should help you.
whizbang
1.5 Star Member
1.5 Star Member

Need Help Improving Cut Quality

Post by whizbang »

Hi all,

So I have a Langmuir Systems Crossfire Pro. I am currently using SheetCam for camming and I am cutting with a Primeweld Cut 60.

I am having issues with bevel and corners. I eliminated the table as the source for the bevel, because the bevel is always on the same edge of the part no matter how I orientate it. I have tried to make adjustments to reduce bevel and improve my corners through some plasma cutter settings and path rules in sheetcam and while I have seen some improvements I am still not there. My corners on outer perimeters are a wreck. I should note, I am very new to sheetcam, especially using path rules.

I think part of my issue was airflow. I have a Primeweld Cut 60 that I have been using and I never calibrated the air flow to start, since doing that my bevel has reduced and actually reversed direction. My top side of the cut is narrower than the bottom now.

I attached photos of the part I have repetitively cut with various changes to settings/code. One the sides with the tabs, where the cutter is jogging in X and Y a lot in relatively short distances, my corners are rounded or not even fully cut. I used path rules to slow it down and saw some improvement, but what I can’t seem to figure out is why my inside corners on the small squares got so sharp at 60% of the feed rate, but the inside corners on the outer perimeter at 60% and 50% of the feed rate is so lousy.

Am I screwing up in my path rules? Is something to do with my consumables (even though I have used new ones)? Is it my plasma cutter?

I have a Hypertherm Powermax 85 I could wire in if someone thinks that would make a difference. At this point I need some more guidance so any and all recommendations are welcome.
Attachments
Slide1.JPG
Slide2.JPG