Best Cad Software? Multi angle/ Bumper Design

General software related questions should be posted here.
Dsilverarc33
1 Star Member
1 Star Member

Best Cad Software? Multi angle/ Bumper Design

Post by Dsilverarc33 »

I’m looking for an easier to us software for things like custom bumpers. If anyone has any experience with it, I would love some feedback!
Ive used inventer and fusion360. Now mostly using Shapr3D for most 2d drawings. Inventor is okay I’ve got about 3 years experience with it. But for 3 dimensional bumper drawings I get absolutely stumped on how to draw it out with multiple angles.
weldguy
4 Star Elite Contributing Member

Re: Best Cad Software? Multi angle/ Bumper Design

Post by weldguy »

I would use Fusion 360 for that. Once you learn about placing components in relation to others its pretty slick.
Dsilverarc33
1 Star Member
1 Star Member

Post by Dsilverarc33 »

Any Advice on Where to start? Ive even tried just building separete models to place together but that just seems like the wrong way to do it!
weldguy

Post by weldguy »

How I would go about this is to start by creating all the multi angle panels in cardboard on the truck to get the look you want then draw those pieces in Fusion and Extrude them to the thickness of the plate you plan to use for the bumper. Once your pieces are drawn you can move them around in fusion to connect them all together at the appropriate points and angles. I am no bumper builder, have never done one but that is how I would tackle it. Are you able to draw shapes and extrude in Fusion yet?
SegoMan DeSigns
3.5 Star Elite Contributing Member
3.5 Star Elite Contributing Member

Post by SegoMan DeSigns »