Sheetcam and THC

SheetCam related questions and tips can be posted here
mkingaz
2 Star Member
2 Star Member

Sheetcam and THC

Post by mkingaz »

I have a premier plasma 4x8 flat deck, running a xp45 with SD Promo TCH. I'm new to plasma cutting and having an issues. A few months bank I was wiring up the THC and after I could read all the volts and settings on the unit I could not get my table to work correctly for days. I called Jake the owner after a few days of working on it at a total loss and he actually came to my house and fixed the issue. It was determined that sheetcam had a software issue and deleted from the computer and re-installed it and all was good.

I thought anyways, so I have notice cutting thin metal 16 ga, that it seems like when the torch started it would work correctly. Take off head to first cut, drop to table, lift and start cutting and is lowered or lifted as it should. However, I notice that almost every other cut it would take off to the cut by dragging. I think I was getting away with cutting small things because it was so thin. Just my guess, wish I knew more now on these tables.

Today, I was hoping to cut a 1/4 HR sheet and cut out a welding table found here on the site. This is when things got magnified and I basically have screwed up a 4x4 sheet. I think I can still save it but 4 holes are a loss.

My thought is remove Sheetcam again and reload it. Does this sound like a good option?

I love this site and all the support, Thank you to all the educated helpful members.
robertspark
4.5 Star Elite Contributing Member

Re: Sheetcam and THC

Post by robertspark »

I cannot see how the problem is sheetcam...

As you have a self contained THC using the proma SD other than the touchoff all other z motion is controlled by the THC.... Sheetcam ONLY controls the X and Y motion.