Plasmacam control box repair

PlasmaCam Hardware discussion forum
Greavsie66
1/2 Star Member
1/2 Star Member

Plasmacam control box repair

Post by Greavsie66 »

Is there anyone who can fix the dhc control box? We had the short circuit message and have traced it back to the control box as all motors and wiring loom check out ok. Plasmacam want in the region of $2500 or £2000 to fix it as I have to pay to upgrade to design edge. I work in a school and teach engineering and this is just not possible as my whole engineering budget will be spent on the fix and I will not have any spare cash for materials or any other bits we need for the year.
If anyone has any ideas please let me know as we already started planning projects involving the plasmacam for when we go back in September.
Rodw
4 Star Member
4 Star Member

Re: Plasmacam control box repair

Post by Rodw »

Linuxcnc maybe? I know of a school in Germany that runs abut 5 small plasma tables on linuxcnc and there is now a fully packaged configuration called Plasmac. See: http://linuxcnc.org/docs/devel/html/pla ... guide.html

Plasmac is hardware agnostic but gets best results if LinuxCNC knows the torch voltage. Mesa has a $69 card that works well for this. (Mesa THCAD)
rdj357
4 Star Elite Contributing Member

Post by rdj357 »

No one that I'm aware of has successfully had the controller repaired except through Plasmacam.
Casaba
2 Star Member
2 Star Member

Post by Casaba »

I found a thread once where somebody overseas repaired their controller by desoldering and replacing the transistors on the board. It’s the only thread about this that I’ve ever seen and I have no personal knowledge of whether or not it’s truly possible.

https://www.cnczone.com/forums/plasmaca ... c61a993485
ojquintero
1/2 Star Member
1/2 Star Member

Post by ojquintero »

Bogdan Rotaru
Masa cnc de debitare cu plasma Robocut
Robomet Indurtrial www.robomet.ro

He copy PlasmaCam. but yes he repared his Plamacam Box
WyoGreen
4 Star Member