not initializing

PlasmaCam Hardware discussion forum
nichoce04
1/2 Star Member
1/2 Star Member

not initializing

Post by nichoce04 »

I have an older DHC machine that won't initialize. After attempting to initialize is comes back with an error message (COULD NOT DETECT LIMIT SWITCH CLOSING ON CARRIAGE GATRY). Have tested switches with an ohm meter and switches perform as designed. Check continuity of wires from switches to the end of the pigtail connector and I have continuity. I am not able to jog either motor in any direction. This machine has been sitting for a few years and am now trying to get it operational again. Looking for help. I am a high school shop teacher who is a novice with this machine but have an extensive background in electrical troubleshooting.
Thanks Chuck
adbuch
6 Star Elite Contributing Member

Re: not initializing

Post by adbuch »

Chuck - you will not be able to jog until you have initialized the table. Initializing zeros out x, y, and z. Check to see that both ends of the gantry are completely resting against the stops when you slowly move the gantry to the home position by hand. If the table somehow got "bumped" and knocked out of square, it is then possible for the right end of the gantry to make contact against the stop before the left end of the gantry triggers (depresses) the Y limit switch. It is also a good idea to unplug, blow out, and reconnect the main harness connectors from the gantry and carriage motors. I assume you are running 3.11 (not Design Edge), but you may still have a diagnostics routine where you can test the limits switches using the computer. The screen shot below is from my Design Edge version.
David

limit switches in diagnostics.jpg

You currently do not have access to download this file.
To gain download access for DXF, SVG & other files Click Here

adbuch

Post by adbuch »