CNC table woes Wright CNC

Don't see your table manufacturer listed above? Post here in this forum.
PIKustomz
1/2 Star Member
1/2 Star Member

CNC table woes Wright CNC

Post by PIKustomz »

Just finished assembling my Wright CNC 4x8 , using a refurb XP Dell. Running Mach3 , everything set up to spec , when the table is powered off the motors slide up and down smoothly, all gears make perfect contact no binding etc but when powered up all my motors are making a god awful noise , jerky motion etc , messed with a few settings i found by googling , searching forums etc. Im kinda lost. Any ideas guys? Im new to the whole CNC world . Link to vid

https://youtu.be/XrbyXTfMFhs
acourtjester
6 Star Elite Contributing Member

Re: CNC table woes.

Post by acourtjester »

That a bummer, first you have 2 motors on the X axis they need to be slaved (A slaved to X) in mach 3 and one rotation needs to reverse from the other. You could also have a noise problem or a mechanical problem like shafts slipping but that sounds like a binding in the drive sections.
You showed the X and Y movement does the Z make similar noise. If you were trying to move them to fast they would stall (move a small amount then stop), just to check reduce the Velocity in the motor tune by about 50%. The Acceleration should be about 25% of the Velocity. (100 vel to 25 acc).
And the first thing is remove the Plasma lead from being bundled with the other cables, make a boom and have that cable separate from all other.
DIY 4X4 Plasma/Router Table
Hypertherm PM65 Machine Torch
Drag Knife and Scribe
Miller Mig welder
13" metal lathe
Small Mill
Everlast PowerTig 255 EXT
PIKustomz
1/2 Star Member
1/2 Star Member

Post by PIKustomz »