Cutmaster 82 without automation interface board?

Thermal Dynamics plasma cutter discussion forum.
bnflette
1 Star Member
1 Star Member

Cutmaster 82 without automation interface board?

Post by bnflette »

Im new to this sight and new to the world of CNC. I have a 5x5 table form a local builder who isnt much help since I did not purchase a Hypertherm from him when I bought the table. I purchased a used TD cutmaster 82 without doing enough homework about the unit. Mine does not have the Automation interface board that comes with the A models. I have my table running with a proma THC that was provided with the table. I simply tapped into the hand torch wires for the torch on and off and connected the THC to raw voltage. It works but wanted to know if this is incorrect and or what the benefits of adding the $200+ automation interface kit and a $600 Mechanized torch. I understand the benefits of the mechanized torch over the hand held torch in therms of mounting and ease and accuracy. One thing i have noticed with my current hand torch setup is that my consumable life is very short. Could that be a result of my wiring configuration? Thanks in advance for any help any can provide
islander261
2.5 Star Member
2.5 Star Member

Re: Cutmaster 82 without automation interface board?

Post by islander261 »

Hello

The wiring for a Cutmaster 82 used as a CNC power supply is shown in the service manual. The technical support desk at ESAB/Thermal Dynamics will email you a pdf copy of the manual for free if you ask. Sorry but it is a copyrighted work so I can't post my copy. You may want to get the latest version from them even if you have an old printed one. The short answer to your question is no, for a Proma THC you don't need the automation interface.