New Guy Needs Help

Thermal Dynamics plasma cutter discussion forum.
SouthExpress
1/2 Star Member
1/2 Star Member

New Guy Needs Help

Post by SouthExpress »

Hey guys - I'm new to the forum and to plasma cutting in general. The wife wants to add some plasma cutting to her woodworking hobby and I'm here trying to figure it all out. I got an older Thermal Dynamics Cutmaster 50 with a SL60 torch from my work that was not being used. I have zero experience with plasmas so I'm drinking from a fire hose at this point. I know nothing. I got my air system ran and plasma cleaned up. Working on getting my CNC table up now and hopefully will be test cutting soon. the consumables are junk on this torch where it was being used in an industrial setting. I have no idea what consumables to buy can anyone help? I plan on cutting mainly 16 gauge and 14 gauge steel for metal signs, etc. Do I buy 30 amp or 40 amp tips? Do i drag cut? My table has a manual torch height control. Do I cut with an offset? Do I need a shield?

Any advise would be greatly appreciated! Even if the topic is not included here like, cutting amperage, speeds, air pressure recommendations. Thanks so much.
cuttinparts
3 Star Member
3 Star Member

Re: New Guy Needs Help

Post by cuttinparts »