JD2 vs Arc Light ??

Arclight Hardware discussion forum.
ShopTeacher76
1/2 Star Member
1/2 Star Member

JD2 vs Arc Light ??

Post by ShopTeacher76 »

I am looking to buy a table. Has anyone compared the MAD series JD to the Arclight? My biggest concerns are the following:

Servos vs steppers... is the cost worth the reward
Control System.... reliability and customer service
Longevity of the company.... will they be around when I need service

Cost... I’m not really sure that I’m comparing apples to apples

What’s included... plasma? Compressor? Engraver? Trace feature?

Biggest concern is location... I’m in New York.. shipping cost and logistics... taxes??

I’m not looking to throw any one under the bus, I am just looking to make an informed decision.

If you respond, please keep it positive. As a business owner, I know the fallout of negative comments that don’t have to be backed up because they are on social media.

I should also mention that I built a precision plasma kit with CandCNC controls with my students at my day job. It served me well for the past 7 years with a few hiccups along the way. So I have some experience.
Ironken
3 Star Member
3 Star Member

Re: JD2 vs Arc Light ??

Post by Ironken »

ShopTeacher76 wrote: Wed Nov 27, 2019 7:58 am I am looking to buy a table. Has anyone compared the MAD series JD to the Arclight? My biggest concerns are the following:

I have a JD2 MAD and I love it. Support is fantastic and it is heavy duty.

JD2 has been around quite a long time (1980's) and as said above, customer service is aces! Arclight has a good rep in the customer svce area as well.

Look at build quality and how beefy the two are. Look at maximum speeds. My JD2 is a tank. No extruded aluminum parts. I literally have run thousands of pounds of steel across this thing per month for the 1.5 yrs I have owned it.

None of these items are included. Some companies will add some or all if these items at an additional charge.