raising gantry height question.

Share and learn with other DIY members who have built their own plasma tables and accessories.
johno down under
2 Star Member
2 Star Member

raising gantry height question.

Post by johno down under »

Hi all, I'm still very new to this hobby, and here in Aus there are not a lot of machines or operators that I can ask things /questions about plasma cutters.
The place that I bought the outfit off really just sell the units and maintain a spare parts department.
The table that I have is a plasma cam 4x4 with a hypertherm 45xp and what I would like to do is cut 4in square or 3in square fence supports to accommodate rails (for sheep yards)
I have been asked a few times now if I can do such a thing! I did do some searching to see if this has been done before. I am sure I'm not the only one to try this!

Looking at the way the table is bolted together, it looks like a simple job of just raising the rails with angle iron and re-bolting to the required height?? or making a wind up height attachment (all 4 corners)
Can anyone point me in the right direction, there must be a topic like this somewhere.
Just a little info about my situation here in Aus.........
At the moment I am just having a clean up and a break after the Christmas rush, In my TIN shed where the plasma cutter is the temperature is 49 deg or 120 f in your scale! 8-) My water table has to be filled each day (it evaporates!)
And..... where I live is well known for Brown snakes (the deadliest in Aus) the babies have the same venom as the big ones! and at the moment they are hatching out everywhere, no fun when they are running across your boots! :o
So that is why I'm inside thinking about how to improve what I have! :)
Thanks for any help with this one.
Cheers Johno
acourtjester
6 Star Elite Contributing Member

Re: raising gantry height question.

Post by acourtjester »