New to PlasmaSpider? Introduce yourself to the community and tell us a little about you.
Americanwelder
1/2 Star Member
1/2 Star Member

Post by Americanwelder »

Looking to play around with my new plasma table. I have a samson 5x10. I am a welder during the day. New to the world of cnc. I also have a Miller Dynasty 200, Shop Outfitters Universal Fabricator. Looking to make a DIY press brake like the one sold from swag off road,(50") . Very interested in the pen holder from acourtjester. ( please contact me ). I am in Livermore, Ca.
Joe Jones
5 Star Elite Contributing Member

Re: New Member

Post by Joe Jones »

Hi, tell me about your software. Do you only have BASIC DesignEdge, or do you also have one or more of the upgrades activated? Are you able to use the software now, or do you need training to get up to speed?

Are you using a hand torch in the funky brace, or does your table use a machine torch?

What materials are you cutting? Thickness, and types (steel, aluminum, etc.)

Are you hoping to use your table mainly for cutting out widgets in quantities, like gussets, and saddles and other boring stuff, or are you getting into the metal art aspect of cnc plasma tables?

Do you only have the single "seat" license of DesignEdge installed onto the PC that runs your table, or do you also have one or more additional seats installed on other towers, or maybe a laptop?

Is this table PC connected to the Internet with a GOOD connection?

Do you have one monitor on the PC, or two?

Are you the only person who will be running this table, or do you need to train a helper (wife / son / daughter / brother / coworker / etc.?)

Do you want to use stock cut files from art libraries you purchase, or do you want the ability to draw your own files?

Did your table come with the pipe cutting attachment or any other accessory?

Would you like your table to be able to cut something with a taller profile, such as 4" x 4" or 6" x 6" square tubing?