Inkscape Ear tag Font and Design

Inkscape related questions, tips and topics can be posted here
zayne19
1 Star Member
1 Star Member

Inkscape Ear tag Font and Design

Post by zayne19 »

Hello,

I am a high school agriculture teacher who recently got a new CNC plasma cutter for class. We want to make an ear tag like I have attached for our program supporters, but I am having a hard time finding the two fonts used in the picture. Also, I do not know how to make the open rectangle to have the words in like on "Proud" and "of the". Does anyone know how to create this so I can have my text inside?
Attachments
IMG-3474.JPG
mdwalker
3.5 Star Elite Contributing Member

Re: Inkscape Ear tag Font and Design

Post by mdwalker »

Let us know specs on what plasma table you are using and what software you are using.
Danny Walker
Walker Manufacturing
Tishomingo, Oklahoma USA
www.walkermfg.net
zayne19
1 Star Member
1 Star Member

Post by zayne19 »

We have an ArcLight 4x4 table. I'm using Inkscape to do my designs.
ROKCRLER
3 Star Elite Contributing Member

Post by ROKCRLER »

Here is how I did it in inkscape.

Since the picture is skewed.
I make shapes to match the dimensions, use the radius tool to round the edges.
Then i use a combination of union and difference.
Make your text, I used stenciled font for all except livestock buyer which i stenciled myself.
EarTag1.JPG
EarTag1.JPG (73.75 KiB) Viewed 3155 times
The rectangle cuts, i used the Bezier tool to make the "C", then stroke to path (1/4"), duplicate, flip and place on the other side then differenced from the plate after positioning the text.
Manual tracing the shape would work but this was quicker.

This is only one quick and dirty way to make this file.
I hope it helps.
Attachments
Ear Tag.svg
(160.29 KiB) Downloaded 75 times
EarTag2.JPG
EarTag2.JPG (71.07 KiB) Viewed 3155 times
4x8 Dynatorch
PM85
~Mo~
zayne19
1 Star Member
1 Star Member

Post by zayne19 »