Hi All, New Here

New to PlasmaSpider? Introduce yourself to the community and tell us a little about you.
CNC_rowdy
1.5 Star Member
1.5 Star Member

Hi All, New Here

Post by CNC_rowdy »

Hi all, I am a new one to this forum, and looking to find great information from you guys here. I was a programmer and operator of CNC turret presses, press brakes in the sheet metal fabrication area. Now, I have a small CNC plasma table and am learning it. I hope to get great information from you guys here, and as I get better, share what I have learned with you.
Thanks,
CNC_rowdy
CNC_rowdy
1.5 Star Member
1.5 Star Member

Re: Hi All, New Here

Post by CNC_rowdy »

Yes, I forgot to mention, I am in Fort Worth Texas and have a PlasmaCam Go Torch.
Thanks,
CNC_rowdy
Joe Jones
5 Star Elite Contributing Member
5 Star Elite Contributing Member

Post by Joe Jones »

Hi,

Did you only buy the basic machine, or did you get any software upgrades for your GoTorch?

I know that after buying the machine, it is a bit of a "GOT'CHA!" to learn that it will do almost nothing unless you buy the various upgrades for the software. The PlasmaCam tables are awesome, but the software that comes with the GoTorch is BARE BONES.

I always advise people to get "The Big Three" upgrades, Advanced Design Software, Advanced Machine Control and Advanced Height Control, but for a GoTorch owner, that equates to about $5,000.00 in additional software. :Wow I know ... You just paid $4K for the machine!

I can help you learn the software online if you wish. I do that for fun, but if you only have the basic software that comes with the GoTorch, there isn't a whole lot you can do with it beyond importing a .dxf file and cutting it manually. The GoTorch does not come with design software, or height control software. It only comes with the basic machine control.